Environmental Health

Greetings from the Environmental Health Section

The Environmental Health Section met for a business meeting on August 11, 2021 following an excellent presentation by Nidhi Sachdeva on the Opioid Epidemic. The meeting was held virtually but did give an opportunity to conduct annual business, including a Treasurer’s Report, and to push forward plans that were pending during COVID response.

Committee Reports and a full slate of officers were tabled until a future meeting and membership vote. Alexandra Perillo, Pender County, will move to the Past President position. Victoria Hudson, Orange County, has been nominated to serve as President until the vote scheduled for December. Moira Beck has left the Eastern District, and her current position as incoming Vice-President will be fulfilled by Thomas Privott, from Orange County. No other nominations have been received for the Treasurer or Secretary. New business was setting up 2022 program adaptations, plans to work on By-laws and new and edited procedure changes to document the COVID-19 suspension.

Rob Richardson presented Victoria Hudson, Orange County, with the Trenton Davis Award for 2021.

– Victoria Hudson, REHS – Environmental Health Section Chair